Four spinners are listed as India's net bowlers, including Washington and Sai Kishore

Four spinners are listed as Indias net bowlers, including Washington and Sai Kishore

Four net bowlers have been added by the national selectors to the Indian team for the first Test against Australia, and it should come as no surprise that all four are spinners. Saurabh Kumar, a 29-year-old left-arm spinner from Uttar Pradesh, Rahul Chahar, a 23-year-old leg-spinner from Rajasthan, and R Sai Kishore, a 26-year-old left-arm spinner who plays for Gujarat Titans in the IPL and Tamil Nadu in domestic cricket, have joined the squad, according to sources in the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

Washington Sundar, a mainstay for India in the white ball forms who made his Test debut against Australia earlier that year, is also a member of the team that came together in Nagpur, the site of the first Test. Washington, a 23-year-old off spinner, is seen as a crucial component in the team's planning for the conditions that are likely to favor spinners.

Four spinners make up the team itself: R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, and Ravindra Jadeja. The BCCI, national selectors, and team management haven't given the idea of needing additional pacers for the practice sessions much thought. It's rumored that the team management works certain local bowlers in nets.

The team arrived in Nagpur on Thursday ahead of the first Test, which begins there on February 9 (February 3). In fact, the squad lead by Rohit Sharma played an extended net practice on Friday morning without Shreyas Iyer, who is injured and has not traveled to the city. The squad will initially have practice sessions at the older of the two Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) fields in the city. The historic ground, in the center of the city, hosted the net session on Friday.

The following players will represent India in the first two Test matches against Australia: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Moh


Cricket betting

Cricket betting is a well-liked hobby in India, where numerous authorized bookmakers provide a wide range of betting possibilities on cricket matches and competitions. One of the most watched cricket tournaments in India is the Indian Premier League (IPL), a professional Twenty20 cricket league that sees a lot of betting activity.

The Public Gambling Act of 1867, which forbids gambling in public spaces, governs cricket wagering in India. However, online gambling is mostly uncontrolled and not covered by any specific laws.

Read more:
As New Zealand defeats India in the first T20I, spinners Daryl Mitchell, Devon Conway, and others excel

Back To Top Sign up now